The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) has issued its first COVID-19 related citations to a nursing home. OSHA claims that six nursing home employees in Georgia were hospitalized as a result of COVID-19 that they allegedly contracted while at work, and that the nursing home failed to report the hospitalizations to OSHA within the statutorily mandated time period. (Employees were hospitalized around April 19, but report was not made to OSHA until May 5.) OSHA has proposed a $6,500 fine for the “other than serious” citation.
Generally, employers must report incidents to OSHA within twenty four hours when an employee suffers a work-related in-patient hospitalization. This includes instances in which an employee is hospitalized because of COVID-19 if the employee contracted COVID-19 while at work and the hospitalization occurs within 24 hours of the employee contracting the virus. (Refer to 29 CFR 1904.39(b)(6)).
- When several cases develop among workers who work closely together;
- If it is contracted after lengthy, close exposure to a customer or coworker who has a confirmed case of COVID-19; or
- If an employee’s job duties include having frequent, close exposure to the general public in a locality with widespread transmission.
You can find OSHA’s May 19, 2020 guidance on COVID-19 infection record keeping here: https://www.osha.gov/memos/2020-05-19/revised-enforcement-guidance-recording-cases-coronavirus-disease-2019-covid- 19#:~:text=Under%20OSHA’s%20recordkeeping%20requirements%2C%20COVID,Prevention%20(CDC)%3B%5B2%5D
In the case of the Georgia nursing home, OSHA stressed that the widespread transmission of COVID-19 in nursing homes in general, and the fact that six employees in this particular nursing home tested positive for COVID-19 should have been an indication to the employer that the virus was work-related.
Bottom line: Employers must make themselves aware of OSHA’s reporting and recording obligations, and consider them each time an employee tests positive for COVID-19.